The National Organization for Women aims to take action to bring true equality for all women in America, and toward a fully equal partnership of the sexes.

Stay Updated

National Board Meeting


At the NOW National Board Meeting in Chicago, IL, by-laws were adopted by the Board incorporating the revisions specified by the October 1966 National Conference. These by-laws provided for the establishment of chapters.

The Task Forces established by the Board at this meeting were: Equal Opportunity of Employment; Legal and Political Rights; Education; Women in Poverty; The Family; Women and Religion. Task Force position papers were approved on Employment, Legal & Political Rights, Women in Poverty, and Image of Women.

The appointments of Standing Committees and Task Force Chairmen (sic) were announced as follows:

  • Legal Committee: Marguerite Rawalt
  • Finance Committee: Ti-Grace Atkinson
  • Membership: Inka O’Hanrahan
  • Public Relations: Muriel Fox
  • Special Committee for Constitutional Protection (to evaluate need for ERA): Betty Friedan (acting chair)
  • Employment: Dorothy Haener
  • Legal and Political Rights: Jane E. Hart
  • Family: Alice Rossi
  • Education: Helen Schleman
  • Women & Religion: Elizabeth Farians
  • Image of Women: Patricia H. Trainor
  • Poverty: Dr. Anna Arnold Hedgeman

Comments are closed.