The National Organization for Women aims to take action to bring true equality for all women in America, and toward a fully equal partnership of the sexes.

Stay Updated

Founding Conference

NOW held its founding conference on October, 29-30, 1968 in Washington, D.C.

Election results:

  • Betty Friedan: president
  • Kay Clarenbach: chair of the board
  • Aileen Hernandez: vice president (elected in absentia with consent)
  • Richard Graham: vice president
  • Caroline Davis: secretary-treasurer


To refine our policies and establish our specific goals, NOW set up seven Task Forces:

  • Family Life
  • Education
  • Equal Opportunity of Employment
  • Media/Image of Women
  • Religion
  • Women in Poverty
  • Women’s Legal and Political Rights


NOW Membership 300; NOW Annual Budget $1500

Betty Friedan and Richard Graham

Betty Friedan and Richard Graham
Photo: The Sisterhood by Marcia Cohen

Comments are closed.